86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Uneven Idle when A/C is on

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2011, 10:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Uneven Idle when A/C is on

I've noticed that my 4Runner's idle is uneven when i turn on the heat or A/C. It either raises to about 1500 RPM and stays there or it will move up and down pretty quickly between 1000 and 1300 RPM. Any help would be much appreciated. I'm pretty new to all this stuff so easy, simple instructions would be much appreciated! thanks
Old 11-06-2011, 10:55 AM
Contributing Member

I don't mean to sound like a jerk but, it's perfectly normal for the RPM's to jump a bit when the A/C compressor kicks on as it is puts an extra load on the motor.

As far as the sporadic idle, can you post a video of your tach doing this so we can see it?

Fink
Old 11-06-2011, 11:03 AM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
Originally Posted by andlours
I've noticed that my 4Runner's idle is uneven when i turn on the heat or A/C. It either raises to about 1500 RPM and stays there or it will move up and down pretty quickly between 1000 and 1300 RPM. Any help would be much appreciated. I'm pretty new to all this stuff so easy, simple instructions would be much appreciated! thanks
Fast idle speed is adjustable, sounds like yours is set too high. Should be around 1000 RPM or so:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...ne_Pix/13.html

If too high, you'll have an unstable idle speed as you hit the ECU fuel cut point, especially if you hit the brakes:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/TLCA_Tru...ech.04.09.html
Old 11-06-2011, 11:26 AM

Here's a video of it happening. Also, when i turn on the A/C I get a belt squeaking sound. It stops immediately after I turn off the A/C. It doesn't do it every time, but when it does, it's only when the A/C is on. Any help would be appreciated!

Here's the link:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fiY-cL7-0bQ