86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Tail light lens

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2013, 06:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tail light lens

Is there a way to remove the bucket from the actual lens? I wanna re coat the inside silver so it'll be brighter in the day light. Seems to be sealed but the bucket is PP plastic and the lenses are a PC plastic. I don't know how those would be bonded in a way that doesn't involve a sealer of some sort since these are dissimilar plastics. Anyone ever get these apart? Any tips? Sorry for the nerd out on plastic, I work in the industry so I know that stuff haha.
Thank guys!
Old 02-13-2013, 06:09 PM

All mine have pulled right apart....if they didn't how would you replace the bulbs?

I say just be careful with a flat head screwdriver and should pop right out i would think
Old 02-13-2013, 06:23 PM

Originally Posted by dakotawho
All mine have pulled right apart....if they didn't how would you replace the bulbs?

I say just be careful with a flat head screwdriver and should pop right out i would think
Bulbs come out the back. I'm talking about removing the clear lens from the black bucket. Like te lens pulled apart from the black back part.

Truck is a 90 t4r w/22re
Old 02-13-2013, 08:59 PM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Well if you're in the industry you should know better than to use abreviations with laymen

they're either cliped glued or screwed and just wedged, I don't recall off hand. pretty sure mine fall apart all by themselves, worst case you take a hot knife to the rear section and cut glue them back.

Polypropylene and Polycarbonate? yeah it just dawned on me out of no where.
Old 02-13-2013, 08:59 PM

P.S. post pictures we LUV pictures!
Old 02-13-2013, 09:21 PM

Originally Posted by Co_94_PU
Well if you're in the industry you should know better than to use abreviations with laymen