86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Suspension Advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2017, 10:24 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Suspension Advice

Newbie here. I'm the new owner of a 1987 Toyota Xtra Cab SR5 pickup. I'm debating installing a small lift. The truck's ride height is fine now. I'm more concerned with ride quality. I know that no lifted truck really rides that great but would like to make it as smooth as possible. I'm not planning on rock crawling or anything extreme. This will mostly be driven during winter months and hunting/fishing trips. Any restoration advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Also, anyone know much about Old Man Emu products?
Old 09-08-2017, 10:55 AM

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts
Sounds like you simply want to freshen things up. I would go through and replace all the wearable components - ball joints, control arm bushings, steering rod ends, idler arm, steering stabilizer, shocks, swaybar bushings and repack the wheel bearings. Do all that and basically you'll have new front suspension and steering with pretty much the best ride quality you can achieve.

Some people go to Toyota for these parts, others go to Autozone. Personally I like to stay with OEM manufacturers at least. For most of the steering/suspension parts, Sankei "555" is the brand to look for, it's stamped on the casting. It's commonly re-boxed in other parts store brands like Beck Arnley, sometimes Moog.

I have most of an OME lift on my 93 pickup. I love it. There aren't many options for an IFS lift between stock and 4" bracket, but the OME kit ends up being a nice 2" or so lift. I have everything except for the t-bars.

Last edited by highonpottery; 09-08-2017 at 10:56 AM.
Old 09-08-2017, 12:42 PM