Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Repair IFS or SAS

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2011, 02:49 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Repair IFS or SAS

Basics, '91 T4R 3.4 swapped, runs strong. Now the issues. My bearing grumble, I need new shocks on all 4 corners, probably new calipers/brakes, repack the bearings. In doing the swap, I accidentally removed the switch from the t-case that tells the ECU to go to 4WD (ECU is out of an auto w/electronic controlled trans. and push button 4WD). And I managed to pull the wires from the actuator in the front diff. I have tried to jump the right wires with a switch, but no dice. I am planning on replacing the ECU in a month or two, my question comes down to...

Do I spend the money on repairing the IFS and keep driving to practice hitting the right lines and all, or do I save and dump it all into a SAS?

I have limited off road experience, but most of that has been due to a knocking 3.0 and time in school. I do plan on a SAS, but was hoping to be a better driver at the time I do it, and this truck be a weekend warrior vehicle.

Opinions welcomed, and ideas on how to go about it.
Old 02-11-2011, 02:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
man do the swap it is better all around yeah ifs rides better and all but you will be happier if you just swap it out and then you wont look back and tell youreself
why did i spend the money on fixing that ifs when i could of had this solid axel sooner and been happier on the trail and pulled out less and gone further

Old 02-11-2011, 03:20 PM

Received 101 Likes on 79 Posts
SAS can ride better depending on how you set it up. if you go with a coil spring set up, it'll ride just fine.
Old 02-11-2011, 03:22 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Originally Posted by nvtoyota
why did i spend the money on fixing that ifs when i could of had this solid axel sooner and been happier on the trail and pulled out less and gone further