Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Pull the head?

Old 06-22-2006, 07:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Pull the head?

College is coming in late August and i seem to be getting the dreaded timing chain rattle and the chain has some slack. Engine has 180k yet feels solid. So, should I go about replacing the chain the "right way" and pull the head? Or, simply take pull the cover off?

The idea of taking the head off of the 22RE scares me when I think of trying to remove the old exhaust manifold, or keep the wiring and vacuum lines in order. I have little mechanical experience aside from adjusting valves, but I do want to learn.

So what do you think? Do it the "right way" and pull the head, or just pull the cover off?

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-22-2006, 08:04 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I did mine the first time by just pulling the cover and oil pan and had a leak in the gasket and had to do it again the right way by pulling the pan and head.

It has been done a thousand times by people on these forums by not pulling the head but after you spend as much time as it takes to get in there to the chain, it really isn't that much more time to pull the head too.

Chances are that at 180k the head gasket is a time bomb as well. I say do yourself a favor and do it all at once.

Take plenty of high res pics of all the vacuum lines before you start any work at all, and label everything to where you disconnect it with either tape or a paint pen and you'll be fine. I probably took 200 pictures at 248x1560 with my camera and I can't tell you how many times I had to reference them.
Old 06-22-2006, 12:22 PM

Thanks for the reply, hopefully ill be ordering the engnbldr timing kit today. Other than that, I think Im gonna go get started tearing the truck down right now.

Btw, any tiips on getting the old exhaust manifold off?

Any other opinions?

Thanks
Old 06-22-2006, 12:38 PM

Originally Posted by all_terrain17