Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Need Help/Advice: Is my Toyota's Long Travel Suspension Set Up Wrong (too stiff) ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2006, 06:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Need Help/Advice: Is my Toyota's Long Travel Suspension Set Up Wrong (too stiff) ?

I think my truck may be running way to stiff in the front but I'm not too sure, I'm a noob when it comes to suspension Anyway I have a '92 Toyota 4x4 Extra Cab Pickup. The transfer case, front axles, and frond driveshafts have been removed to save weight. I'm running an Inland trucks kit on the front with King Coilovers. The spring is a King 3.0 18 700, whatever that means. Over the past few days after coming back from a few desert runs, I am worried that I am running too stiff or my suspension is hitting too hard. I heard suspension stiffness is just all personal preference, but I am mostly worried I am slamming so hard that I may break something. I mean is the truck suppose to not budge at all when a 160 pound person jumps up and down on the front bumper? I'll attach some pictures of the front of my truck so you can see. I also did notice I still have the factory bumpstops which seem like they only allow maybe an inch or two of up travel at the inner pivot point of the A-Arms, I dunno if that makes a difference or not though :p Any advice is appreciated. I was also wondering if I should dump this kit and get Total Chaos' new Gen III kit or something else, but then again I dunno since I don't race (......yet....... ...) if it would be worth it. But yeah, that is enough of my blabbering. Anyway, yeah sorry for that please any help is appreciated.

Here are some Pics of the front, sorry they are kind crappy:

Old 10-02-2006, 08:20 AM