Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

LOUD creaking from front end when in 4WD - tight turns

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2010, 04:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
LOUD creaking from front end when in 4WD - tight turns

Hi everyone,

My truck intermittently makes a very very loud creaking/binding type noise about 50% of the time when I make tight turns in 4-High. I'm pretty sure it happens more so when making left turns.

Whenever the turns are being made, I'm on a low friction ground surface (gravel, dirt, etc.) so there shouldn't be any problems in making the tight turn as the wheels can spin on the ground if need be.

I'm a rookie truck guy, so I'm still unfamiliar with how all the gears, axles, and propshafts work and slide in and out of each other.

I recently changed both front and rear diffs (complete housings/pumpkins and all) but the noise has remained.

Beyond this noise, there is absolutely no other issue with the truck.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Migs
Old 11-21-2010, 05:08 PM

Received 120 Likes on 59 Posts
Steering stops.
Search.

Old 11-21-2010, 05:28 PM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
You can smear some grease on the steering stops but sound will be back sooner (first big puddle) or later (a good long rainy drive)
Old 11-21-2010, 07:07 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
But the steering creaking should happen regardless of 4WD or 2WD. Anyways, if it is the steering stops, then this ebay seller claims to sell better aftermarket steering stops that are better than OEM and are less prone to wear n tear.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...m=220682382195

BTW, I just bought one after seeing this thread .. my truck always creeks pretty loud when I do a sharp turn .. other ppl in the truck sort of get worried as if I broke something ...

Last edited by hgill; 11-21-2010 at 07:16 PM.
Old 11-21-2010, 09:55 PM

When the creaking happens I can actually feel the drivetrain binding under me somehow.