Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Limited air flow through vents

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2006, 12:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Limited air flow through vents

Hi all,
I have a 90 4Runner 3vze 5spd. I am new to this diy vehicle arena but I want to learn. I have been researching this problem for a few weeks now and I can't seem to get a definitive answer.
My heat is hot, my ac is cold but neither makes it through the vents with much force. One mechanic says that it is a common problem and that he can fix it for a few hundred. One says that his 4Runner has about the same force through the vents and he just thinks that is how Toyota made it...frickin' ridiculous!
Intuitively I would say there is a clog in the ventilation system. The blower motor runs quiet to loud when the selector runs right to left so everything seems to work alright.
Any advice? I am driving with my toddler across country to Minnesota and I just may need the heater to work by the time I get there. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
J
Old 09-08-2006, 05:09 PM

I have the same thing. My compressor blew up a month ago, and I replaced it w/ a new one...same problem, but the air is plenty cold.

I took apart the blower motor assembly and cleaned the thing like new...thinking that would help...but nope.

I saw in the cooling unit, which is next to the blower, that my evaporator thing looked pretty filthy. After doing some research in the FSM, I saw that indeed a clogged evaporator can cause "low velocity of cool air", as well as a clogged expansion valve.

I haven't gotten around to it yet, but those are my next project after my ball joints.

I have to crank it up to the highest speed just to get a modest amount of flow. It's ok, but I'd like it to blow a lot harder. It gets noisy all the way up.
Old 09-08-2006, 05:51 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts