Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Front crank seal change in truck?

Old 10-15-2007, 02:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Front crank seal change in truck?

1993 4x4 pickup w/22RE
Today I noticed oil spray all around the engine compartment and it looks like the front seal is starting to go. I've never done one on a 22RE before and was wondering if it's possible to do without pulling the engine. Is there enough room to play around in there if I pull the radiator, shroud, and front grill? I guess I'm figuring correct that the crank pully bolt is going to be a total bitch to get off too
Old 10-15-2007, 05:39 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My V6 doesn't need to pull the engine to replace the seal, has pretty much space there, and I am currently diong mine also... Yeah the darn crank bolt is a b*tch... but you can try this though, get a long ranchet or you can use the torque ranchet and lay the other end touching the frame and make sure that it is in the opening position then crank your engine, but don't start it, just by cranking it a bit, that should have a chance that it will come loose, try heating the bolt first before cranking it ( 500 F?). But I fail on mine trying that cranking. We successfully done it before so no doupt that you can't do it that way.
Old 10-15-2007, 07:23 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Yea its totally possible with the engine in the truck. Might as well just pull the oil pump and put the seal in with it not mounted to the motor.
Old 10-15-2007, 09:06 PM

Originally Posted by SoCal4Running
Yea its totally possible with the engine in the truck. Might as well just pull the oil pump and put the seal in with it not mounted to the motor.
you could but thats not necessary.. its easy you dont need to pull the grill.. just the rad, shroud, fan(i think), belts and of course the crank pulley (use the starter to get it off). then your there
Old 10-15-2007, 10:51 PM