86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Elevation and 22re power questions.

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2009, 08:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Elevation and 22re power questions.

I know the computer should re-adjust itself for these types of changes yet I was noticing a significant loss. I let the truck cool down after I got here and ran it again from cold with the same results.

I did a quick check on everything when I got here and everything seemed fine no exhaust leaks no catalytic problems. I have not pulled the plugs yet. Im a total noob to elevation so maybe Im missing something?

The only notable thing was the oil (not synthetic) went from new green in santa cruz (I changed the day I left) to brown thin over the course of 1100 miles. Also the idle seemed to sit at around 100 +/- rpms more than normal when I got here. The rpms seemed to stick sometimes when I would stop at a rest stop after a few hundred miles at 500+/- rpms more than normal until I would give it a good amount of throttle and it would drop back down to normal range. ( I have no tach so the rpm ranges Im playing by ear).

Anyway the end result is it seems like I have alot more time between shifting gears than normal and it seems really flat for power untill it gets to the top end of the gear the throttle response is very .......well flat. Where as before with the low gears It seemed like I was going from first to third in a heartbeat.

What I can say is going on a 1000+ mile trip with 5.29s and 33s sucks! 65mph all the way. I guess being able to go up hills in 5th gear is nice when you have a sandwich in one hand and a drink in the other and only spending 130 dollars on gas.

Any ideas appreciated.

Last edited by Slowstrike; 07-16-2009 at 08:02 PM.
Old 07-16-2009, 08:08 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts