Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

Cv boot, grease & smell...

Old 05-18-2007, 05:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cv boot, grease & smell...

it appears i may have some sort of a hole in my cv boot (from what i've gathered from reading other threads on this board) i can't see a whole, but as you can see in the picture i posted, there is quite a bit of grease leaking.... i'm not sure how worried i should be about this... i do have unlockable hubs. (oh it's my front passenger side)... what is bothering me is that i'm getting a weird smell coming from that side of the truck... it smells like bad breaks... or something metal.. idk.. but it's only coming from the side with the grease everywhere... i've never worked on anything like this before, and again from what i've read, it sounds kinda simple, but is really messy... any suggestions?

Old 05-18-2007, 07:01 AM

I have the same thing on mine - mine look like they've been torn and leaking for a good few thousand miles tho where the old owner just didn't care. You can replace just the boots, which is cheap - like $14 a set. But messy. Or you can replace the entire CV Axle assembly, which you can buy at any Autoparts store for about $100 per side with some money back for your originals. Which is the route I'm taking.

Instructions here: https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f128/changing-cv-boots-86-95-ifs-toyotas-81059/
Old 05-18-2007, 07:09 AM

so is it a huge deal to run them as is until i get the money? or should this be done asap? and do you think that's what's causing this weird smell...???
Old 05-18-2007, 07:11 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post