86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Brrrr....cold ticking in my 93

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 05:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brrrr....cold ticking in my 93

So many threads on ticking in motors but I haven't found my answer yet, hoping someone can help out. I've narrowed things down a bit, when the outside temp is below about 40 F, (I'd believe freezing may have something to do with it?) and RPMs approach 2k, I get a ticking noise that seems to be toward the rear of the motor. It is most audible from inside the truck. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. She's got 230k on the motor and is in need of some new tires, but otherwise she's going for 300k! Thanks...
Old 01-04-2007, 03:40 PM

Here are some possible thoughts.........

1. I was a Toyota Tech in Northern Wisconsin years ago and worked on 22REs. When the temps were below 32 before the temp gauge reached just above the L-line on the gauge you could heard it as a slight rattle right around 2900 rpms once above that it was gone. If this is what you are hearing it is piston slap. Once the temp gauge got above the L-line it is gone. Toyota engine engineers, "I believe built this in to the design". We never got a straight answer from Toyota directly, and never heard of a engine failure because of it.

2. On my 93 x-tra-cab I would get a "ticking" if the heater temp control was in a certain postion. Move it and it was gone. I believe there was a bullentin on it????

3 and more. Could be the injectors, misadjusted valve.

4. Someone could chime in. Man there are some very knowledgeble gurus on here. :bigclap:

Dan
Old 01-05-2007, 02:05 PM