86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

brake work ??

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2008, 07:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
brake work ??

So for a safety I need new rotors (they're rusty - not sure why I can't just sand it off - I guess they're "pitted"). The shop said I need to replace the pads at the same time even though mine arn't fully worn. I'm not an expert, but this doesn't make sense to me, so I'm looking for a second opinion.
Should I get new pads when replacing the rotors?
Can't I just sand the rust off, they look fine to me otherwise?
Also, one of the calipers is "tight." Will I need a new caliper or can this be fixed?
What are common causes of this?
Thanks,
Old 11-26-2008, 07:38 PM
Banned

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
When you replace pads it is stupid not to turn the rotors. Rotors shouldn't be "rusty". Calipers either work or they don't, tight is BS.

I imagine damn near freezing weather and all the salt on the roads living in North Ontario is what causes this.

Old 11-26-2008, 07:43 PM

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
It would be a good idea to replace the pads if your getting new rotors installed, if your rotors are rusty and there not to bad they can be cleaned up, but if there pitted then they should be replaced.
Old 11-26-2008, 08:56 PM

Rotors get rusty when sitting. Sandpaper the rust off!

I respectfully do not agree with WabFab, "When you replace pads it is stupid not to turn the rotors."

When replacing pads at home, it is not feasible to turn the rotors! Some shops turn rotors whether they need to be turned or not - it's all profit, and then you quickly have rotors that are too thin to be turned again. New pads will quickly seat to any existing grooves. Rotors should be measured for acceptable thickness.
Old 11-26-2008, 10:09 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts