BEGINNER'S 22re Timing Chain Failure / replacement / head gasket replacement

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2013, 05:23 PM
YotaTech Milestone-Two Millionth Post

Received 122 Likes on 57 Posts
awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 12-13-2013, 03:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
noob here stripping my 88 truck I just got this last year its a 22re and am attempting a similar rebuild...been since Highschool since Ive had time to do a rebuild and that was on my old 83 volvo aka turbobrick, but ive got some time on winter break...anyways its got 180k miles on it and everything original, bought it with headgasket leaking...still ran but oil n water starting to mix and oil leaking all over ...

My ? is if i should just replace the headgasket or do a whole front end re build...Checked the timing guides and theyre in perfect condition except for the broken top hole on drivers side but very good condition holding up...no wear on sides of cover..I want to get it on the road and was just going to do the HG but Im not sure if it was leaking from the TC or somewhere...Engine is caked in the front with oil/grease...guessing somewhere leaking onto belts and sending it everywhere...

Just lookng for a lil direction...Thanks in advance!

-Jon

Ps- thanks for the excellent write up

Last edited by YotiBerra; 12-13-2013 at 03:18 PM.
Old 12-16-2013, 02:06 AM

Hey Jon...

here's reality: