Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

BEGINNER'S 22re Timing Chain Failure / replacement / head gasket replacement

Old 07-02-2014, 12:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 TOY, thank you, thank you, thank you for this thread. I'm about to put a timing chain and oil pump in a replacement engine for my 87, and this thread is invaluable. Like you, I'm no professional, and I'm on my own with a 22RE. The pictures themselves are woth their weight in gold.
Old 07-03-2014, 01:57 PM
YotaTech Milestone-Two Millionth Post

Received 122 Likes on 57 Posts
tanx man
Old 07-04-2014, 01:33 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
This thread was invaluable to me disassembling, cleaning up and reassembling my motor, before going in my truck.

I dont have any real world results as its only limped 5 miles from my old place to my new one with a shot carb, but Im hoping to start rebuilding the carb this week.

Im not going to lie though... Im nervous about the head gasket... Seems to be a big issue on these engines.
Old 07-04-2014, 05:32 PM
FGZ

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by slimbobaggins
This thread was invaluable to me disassembling, cleaning up and reassembling my motor, before going in my truck.

I dont have any real world results as its only limped 5 miles from my old place to my new one with a shot carb, but Im hoping to start rebuilding the carb this week.

Im not going to lie though... Im nervous about the head gasket... Seems to be a big issue on these engines.
Keep in mind that this forum and ones like it tend to emphasize the small percentage of defects rather than the millions of HGs that never have trouble. I feel the same way you do, but I think they would hold up fine as long as you follow the rules: use OEM parts and do the job right - fully service the head and block.
Old 08-31-2014, 09:12 PM

Subscribed
Old 09-02-2014, 06:19 PM

tools

Originally Posted by 92 TOY