86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

93 toyota pickup 4x4 front axel cv swap

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2012, 05:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
93 toyota pickup 4x4 front axel cv swap

This past Saturday I decided to swap out my front half axles on the truck, the CV boots have been torn for several months, I really can't complain as they are the original ones!

I took a few pics and please provide some feedback as I am a only a weekend mechanic. (I did have 2 questions along the way, I'll put them in red below.)

1) Remove the tire and jack up the front of your truck. I used two 3 ton jack stands on each side of the front of the truck

2) Shot with the first tire off...

3) I removed the bolts that hold on the locking hub assembly.

4) Removed the one bolt there in the middle, not sure if it has a name but seems to hold a few things in place.

5) I used a small ball ping hammer to tap around the housing, it was the only way to shake the cone washers loose. I wouldn't think this is the preferred method, I did leave the nuts on there so I wouldn't loose them, they do seem to fly. If anybody has a trick to remove these let me know.

6) Removed hub assembly and used snap ring tool to remove the ring.

7) I used a large flathead screw driver and hammer to loosen the large axle nut. They were both snug but not tight. As I understand the spacer thing with the tabs is used in between the 2 nuts to lock or prevent the 3 from moving. Is there a general check for this? Can they work loose?

8) Using a box wrench (19 mm i think) and a breaker bar on the front I was able to crack these off with very little problem. I read the horror stories about these bolts and I don't have pneumatic tools so I didn't know what to expect. Taking my time and applying good even pressure did the trick.