86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

92 22re pickup need help

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2018, 07:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 22re pickup need help

okay im new to this i try my best to do my homework and figure thing out on my own but this truck has me mind blown..okay so its a 91 cabn chassis i bought a 92 motor ecu and harness and put in it. fired it up and had a knock. motor had high miles and it sounded like a rod so i pulled it back out and rebuilt it from top to nottom with all Lc parts >plastigauged all bearings checked out perfect so i put it back in fired it up and it still knocks not at an idle and u can rev past it also but around 2500 to 3 grand it has a constant knock does it going up and down in rpms...iv tried plugs wires distibutor had the head ckecked and also tried a complete different valve terain took the valve cover off and started it noothing has worked ..a couple things im in sure about is it seems to have more then one knock sensor and the knovk sensor wire has been cut to bypass the short harness for it only one is plugged in but no 52 code untill u un plug the one ..the egr has been takin off the engine and from what iv read it been done correctly...im just out of ideas and tired of throwing parts at it , one of u smart toyota guys please tell me what im doing wrong...i can get a video and post it if needed
Old 01-18-2018, 10:09 PM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Just how thorough was the rebuild.. What parts were replaced, which were reused, which were resurfaced, were the galleyways cleaned in depth..

Plastiguage doesn't ensure roundness. Ect ad nauseum blah blah..

You need to be clear about it. Is it knocking(bad clearance, lack of oil, ect), or pre-ignition

Last edited by Co_94_PU; 01-18-2018 at 10:15 PM.
Old 01-18-2018, 10:15 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

First thing I will ask is what kind of oil pressure do you have ??