Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

89 Pickup (Pictures heavy)

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2019, 04:09 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
89 Pickup (Pictures heavy)

Hello everyone, brand new member of the forums here! Long time Toyota fan (the girlfriend and I both own Lexus). I work in a dealership as a parts dept. clerk and I used to be an automotive painter in a former life so I have a pretty strong automotive background. Last year a uncle of mine decided to give me a 89 Toyota pickup V6 extended cab so I jumped on the occasion. I took a few pictures of the truck and decided to get your honest opinion (especially the guys from up North that are used to deal with rusted through projects).

From this angle, the truck looks quiet good actually

Now you can see it starts to look a bit tired with the windshield cap (not sure of the name) sagging

Now for the real hurting part, the bed is pretty much gone (the tailgate too)

Under the cab, the floor is still pretty sane but the underside of the bed as well as its frame seem to be in pretty bad shape.

Last but not least, the interior is in need of some TLC but is not that bad for a 30 years old truck that saw much sand pit off-roading and not much more in the last few years.

Sorry for the length of the post with all those pictures but I guess the real worry I have is the rear frame portion and the bed. Doing a quick search I found a full replacement bed made of fiberglass but being in Quebec, shipping is going to kill me and I'm a bit weary of fiberglass parts. I want to know what you guys think, how hard is it to find parts for this Pickup? I want a mostly stock body (I love the cap up front, it is sooo 80's!) and some suspension modification but it really is the body parts that worry me. I just ditched a 85 mr2 because it was next to impossible to find body parts.

Thanks for your time guys!
Old 06-25-2019, 08:17 PM

Received 215 Likes on 157 Posts