Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

3vze timing belt - need help

Old 02-01-2009, 07:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3vze timing belt - need help

Hi guys,

This is my first post on here, I just bought my third 2nd gen 4Runner. I'm excited because I got a good deal on a 92 with a SAS, lockers and a 6" lift. I bought it with a known leaking water pump but I didn't look into it enough to find out that it requires doing the timing belt. I decided to do the whole thing - Timing belt, idler pulley, tensioner pulley, water pump, all belts and all hoses. I've never done a timing belt before, but I've done most of my own work on all vehicles.

So I have the timing belt off, and replaced the water pump and tensioner, but I believe that I made a mistake; I turned the crank a few revolutions after loosening the tensioner, which caused one or both of the cam sprockets to slip on the belt. I did line up the crank pulley with the 0 notch (TDC?) and removed the harmonic balancer.

So my question is can I just line up the cam gears up with the notches at the top, and make sure the crank is at TDC, as opposed to possibly being at BDC and put the belt back on? I'm afraid due to the distance of the notches I may get the belt a cog off on one or both cam gears.

I apologize, I don't have a lot of experience in dealing with the cams and timing.

Also, I have a replacement idler pulley. In order to remove and replace this do I need to remove the cam sprockets to get to the 4 bolts that hold it on?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

-Jordan

Last edited by angryj; 02-01-2009 at 07:57 PM.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:47 PM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the board!