Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

The 3vze Removal Write-Up

Old 05-22-2008, 09:34 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The 3vze Removal Write-Up

Alright guys, i just entered the yota scene but i have been a contributing member of the BMW enthusiast world for a few years now and i have a lot of misc experience on maintenance/upgrades as well as 1 major engine swap.

I just bought a `90 4x4 pickup 5spd 3vze that had no compression on #4 and 30psi on #6. The truck is a beauty and i just wanted to do a rebuild on it rather than swap over the 3.4. I looked around to try to find a good resource on the actual pulling process for the 3.slow and found several people in my same situation wanting info on how to take out the stock motor.

Well I bought the master engine kit from Ted over at engnbldr and I started prepping for the pull last night.
I thought i would give back for some of the knowledge i have aqcuired in just the last few weeks since buying my first yota.

Here is the way i'm doing the engine removal (i am not a certified mechanic, and while i am confident that my way is correct, safe and will work for you, i am not responsible for anything you do that may result in personal injury or mechanical failure to your rig /end legal bs)

1. Disconnect Battery. Wait for engine to cool down and remove Radiator Cap. Remove the lower bumper shroud if you have one to gain access to the drain plug. Grab a bucket (i used an old 5 gallon paint bucket) and place it under the drain plug (passenger side, on base of radiator) My drain had a hose attached which made it easy to direct the flow into the bucket without a mess. Unscrew the drain plug and the coolant/water will start to fill your bucket.