86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

3VZ-E timing belt tips?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2014, 08:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3VZ-E timing belt tips?

Hi all. Been lurking for a while but first post. Getting ready to do the timing belt and water pump on my '92 pickup SR5 with the 3VZ-E. I haven't done anything this major before. Timing belt is overdue and I recently discovered that the water pump is leaking pretty bad (I've been supplementing with pre-mixed coolant to replace what is lost). Needless to say, I didn't want to wait any longer. I love this truck to pieces. Getting help from my uncle who has lots of experience with other makes (he has rebuilt and re-sold several BMWs) but no Toyota experience. Component kit and water pump ordered from RockAuto and on their way. I'm expecting it to take at least 2 days since it's my first time.

Anyway I've been reading lots of the other posts in the forum about this and the one thing that strikes me is just how many little things there are to worry about that aren't mentioned in the service manual (I'm using the '93 one that's online). So i figured this would be a good place for people to just throw tips and advice at me to make me feel better about this undertaking. So what do I absolutely need to know (that I won't find in the manual), before I start?
Old 06-12-2014, 08:34 PM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
The manual is really pretty comprehensive.

You might look at this: https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f116...-there-281065/
Old 06-12-2014, 09:06 PM

To loosen up the crank shaft bolt try this . Unplug the coil wire "you don't want the truck to start and run". Then put a socket and breaker bar against the bottom
passenger side of the frame .
Give the starter a bump and it will unloosen the bolt.
Think about what your doing and don't get your hand pinched.