Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re replacement help!

Old 02-28-2017, 08:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re replacement help!

Hi, I'm new to YotaTech so cut me some slack if I make any mistakes.

I am a a high school kid getting into toyotas! My dad had an 89 22re 4wd 4runner with a softtop, so he recommended me to get a 4runner as my first car. I liked the interior and features of 90-95 generation better, so I shopped around Craigslist until I found a Black 1991 4runner with a 22re and a 5 speed. It had 190k on the engine and body, but the guy I got it from said he rebuilt it at around 170k. Unfortunately, he didn't do a great job and it turns out it had a vicious oil leak that I didn't know about until guess what. Yep! I made the newbie mistake of not checking the oil. And I threw a bearing and cracked the block. So I pulled the engine out and I got a donor engine from a 1990 pickup from a friend of mine. It has 160K on it just needs the timing chain redone.

How should I get this engine in my truck? Should I do the timing chain first? Should I pull the transmission and bolt it all up first then put it all in at once? Or should I just drop it in and bolt it all together from underneath my truck. Help is totally appreciated, thanks!

Deryk
Old 02-28-2017, 12:48 PM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
I've only done engine by itself. Mite long with tranny and t-case attached.
Old 02-28-2017, 12:58 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I was just wondering which of your threads to respond to
Old 02-28-2017, 01:04 PM

Sorry I forgot to delete the other one. It might get more views if I leave it in both areas?

How hard is it to drop it in and wire it and everything?
Old 02-28-2017, 01:05 PM

Originally Posted by muddpigg
I've only done engine by itself. Mite long with tranny and t-case attached.
You think so?

How long did it take for you to get everything running?
Old 02-28-2017, 01:13 PM