Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re Overheats when climbing hills

Old 06-27-2015, 08:07 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
22re Overheats when climbing hills

I have a rebuilt 22re with about 10,000 miles on it in an 89 4runner. Entirely new cooling system. New water pump with engine swap, new heavy duty radiator from LCE Performance (significantly larger than stock radiator), electric fan that pushes 1500 CFM, new radiator hoses, and Toyota OEM dual stage thermostat. Engine runs very cool when driving through town, sitting in traffic, or on the highway. I have my timing set to 5 degrees BTDC with the diagnostic terminals crossed. I can run it in low 4WD at high RPMs all day if I'm on a level surface and have no issues, but as soon as I try to climb a hill, the temperature shoots up almost into the red and takes a while to cool down. The water pump was a cheaper one from Autozone and the impellers seemed kinda small, I thought that might be my problem. Haven't tried a different water pump yet. I also noticed that my engine would cool down much faster while I was sitting still with the stock clutch fan, vs the electric fan. Maybe the electric fan doesn't push enough air? Ideas? Any help would be appreciated.
Old 06-27-2015, 09:09 PM
osv

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
i saw a post the other day where someone with overheating problems had mounted the electric fan backwards, lol

the stock system only gave me trouble at long periods of idling on a really hot day, never on the freeway, and that got fixed by replacing the fan clutch.

are you measuring temps with the factory dash gauge?
Old 06-27-2015, 09:29 PM

Yes I am using the factory dash gauge. It can sit and idle all day long with no problems.
Old 06-27-2015, 09:52 PM

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts