Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re fresh top end, now some problems?!?!

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2009, 06:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re fresh top end, now some problems?!?!

I bought a 1991 2wd 22re pickup a while back and it was supposed to have been just freshly rebuilt. Long story short...got the truck drove it 3 days then it wouldnt start. After tearing down and searching for the problem, it had sat forever and had an inch thick of goo in the gas tank, had to get another tank, it was uncleanable lol, head was resurfaced, installed new injector seal kit, had injectors tested, new headgasket, basically rebuilt the top end myself. Now its back together and the valves are super loud, im a diesel mechanic and honestly this thing sounds like a little perkins, anyway now it has some white smoke when u rev it up, but clears up going down the highway, and also when i hold the fuel pedal steady and low rpm it idles up and down on its own. sorry so long, anybody got any ideas? thanks guys
Old 10-20-2009, 06:22 PM

also i forgot, i put a new timing chain, metal guides, both sprockets, all new valves, cheked and micrometer'd everything. Pulled each plug wire off, idle goes down on each cylinder.
Old 10-20-2009, 06:27 PM
Contributing Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Now its back together and the valves are super loud
set your rockers at 7intake 9 exhaust that will quite it down and make it run better

anyway now it has some white smoke when u rev it up, but clears up going down the highway,

the white smoke is normal for a few minutes after the rebuild just clearing the oils and such from the greese on your hands putting back together

also when i hold the fuel pedal steady and low rpm it idles up and down on its own. sorry so long, anybody got any ideas?

Check your throttle position sensor may need cleaning or replaced
Old 10-20-2009, 06:32 PM
YotaTech Milestone-Two Millionth Post