Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1986 Toyota frontend rebuild question...

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2011, 07:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1986 Toyota frontend rebuild question...

Okay, so it's about time to start replacing old wore out front end parts. I was wondering if anybody could list all the major things that need to be replaced. I already ordered balljoints, but i want to replace everything up under there and could use a list of all the parts that wear out. Its alot to ask but would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I'm not a newbie to yotas, just IFS yotas
Old 11-30-2011, 07:27 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
thinkin about the same thing myself. then i say screw it cause "One of these days, Im just gunna throw a solid axle under there". . . . . . . .right.

anyway, i would save and order any replaceable joint, and any part with non-replaceable joint. i would think tie-rods and control-arm bushings would be the most in need of replacement

edit: im no suspension/steering guru though, im not sure i even know where all my zerts are lol. just basing my assumptions for yours off of my shot inner tie-rod joints (they're the source of my "supercool" off-road noise) and that my control arm bushings are, well, visibly crap. still tracks strait and true though

Last edited by 92dlxman; 11-30-2011 at 07:32 PM.
Old 11-30-2011, 07:37 PM

I wanna tear everything apart and rebplace it and repaint all the components. Im in the process of a semi-frame off restoration. Got most everything under the hood replaced, no for the front and rear end.
Old 11-30-2011, 07:53 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Ah, another "Old IFS" case.

Does it still drive more or less straight? Any clunks at any time? Is your sway bar still on? How old are the shocks?