84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

22RE won't restart warmed up....

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2011, 04:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22RE won't restart warmed up....

I am an experienced mechanic and been through the ringer on this one (TPS, MAF, intake temp sensor ,etc). Heavily wheeled 1989 22RE truck runs fine and revs like a chainsaw, but it won't restart once it's warmed up and shut off. Pick-up coil in the distributor tests fine (172 ohms). I suspect the igniter box or the ECU, and I can put a 4.3 in it cheaper than replacing either one of them. Gonna start chasing wires, but I would like to find a procedure for testing the igniter box / unit thing that the pickup coil wires run to. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!!
Old 02-14-2011, 07:12 AM

Bump.................................
Old 02-14-2011, 08:00 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
any coolant loss? I chased the same problem on an 86 4runner about a month ago and it would start fine when cold and restart for about 5 minutes afterwards but once warmed up it would just crank and crank. a quick check of your plugs and a compression test or a coolant pressure test should shed some light. Mine ended up being just a headgasket poorly installed by the previous owner (loose bolts on rear of the the head) Good luck on the fix
The following users liked this post:
jjswenn (04-26-2021)
Old 02-14-2011, 10:10 AM

some new discoveries today....still no luck

I have gotten some responses about this thread already being started, but I read them all and none of them helped.