Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Sunroof cable replacement writeup

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2003, 03:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sunroof cable replacement writeup

Hey guys, I am new to toyotas and to this forum. I am very impressed with the information I have found here, especially the writeups members have contributed.
Two weeks ago I bought a 96 4runner 4x4 SR5. The sunroof does not work so I took out the headliner today to investigate. I followed Bob_98SR5's instructions found here:
http://www.4runners.org/articles/sound/headliner.html

I took the motor out of the assembly and it spins back and forth, so I know the motor is ok as well as the switches and wiring. It appears that the cables are stuck, possiably due to corossoin as the previous owner left the sunroof open during a rain storm accidently.

I am looking for a write up on how to change the cables. Does anybody have something, or have changed them before and could offer any advice?
Thanks in advance
Jeremy
Old 08-17-2003, 11:20 AM

I took out the entire sunroof assembly this morning. There are 4 bolts on each side, and two nuts on the front holding it in. Remove those, and the entire assembly will come out. The glass itself is held in with 4 nuts, removing the black trim from either side will expose the nuts.