Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Poor acceleration problems---advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2005, 06:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Popped in a new fuel filter. Good news and bad news. The job wasn't too bad. Bad News. Didn't help! Oh well I can check that one off my list. My dad wants me to check the fuel pump. Here's why I can't see why it would be that (and I'm not a mechanic so it very well could be that): When I first start it up cold and drive it – it drives fine. It begins to have a strong hesitation and won't go after I've driven it for about 3 to 4 minutes. Usually the temp guage has heated up midway. So in my way of thinking if it was the fuel pump wouldn't it do it all the time and not just after I've driven it around awhile. Also, I would think it would be the same scenario for the Fuel Injectors. I would think it would do it at start up also.

Tomorrow I'm going to try cleaning out the throttle body (like in tech write-up). As far as testing and adjusting the throttle body sensor I'm thinking that's out of my range of knowledge. I do OK with mechanical things like unbolt this bolt and rebolt it on another part, but when it comes to fine tuning I'm not so good. I don't even own an ohm meter. I am going to try and read through the post that 4Crawler sent to see if I can tackle it.

Any other ideas. I just hate to take this thing into the shop. It's not even about the money. I feel like I've pulled a freakin engine out of a 91 and replaced it and got it to work and I can't even get another one to run.

Any more ideas I would be forever greatful!!!
Old 07-30-2005, 06:01 AM