General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1982 Toyota 4x4 Pickup headlight Relay wiring

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2018, 03:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1982 Toyota 4x4 Pickup headlight Relay wiring

Hello Folks,

I am a newb. and I am having an issue with my 1982 4x4 pickup. My headlights don't work! I started looking around and saw that the wiring underneath the dashboard towards the floorboard is missing Actually, the headlight relays wiring has been cut and the relays are there but I don't know how to rewire or re run the wires to the headlight relays any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Old 03-12-2018, 10:23 PM

Received 554 Likes on 452 Posts
Post some photos. If you don't already have one you are going to need a basic multimeter.
Old 03-13-2018, 02:59 PM

Thanks, I have a multimeter and will be posting some pics tonight.
Old 03-13-2018, 03:42 PM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Didn't think these trucks used relays that was negative switched through the light switched. Thus the need to run a relay harness to get best elect output to headlights.
Old 03-13-2018, 08:18 PM

Here are the pics. Relays seem to be located underneath the dashboard near driver steering column.The first pic shows that the relays wires seem to either be burnt or cut. The second pic shows where I believe that the relay wires went to and connected with, but Im not positive. Thanks for any help, information or solutions. MY 1982 4x4 Longbed
relays located under dash near steering column. Wires cut or burnt.
I removed 1 relay to take a closer look
relay harness
Headlight Relays?

This is where I believe the headlight relay wires ran to before they were burned or cut. I cant tell for sure though.
Old 03-13-2018, 10:41 PM

Looks like those were burnt and cut !