03+ 4Runner/GX470, & 05+ Tacomas 4th gen 4Runners & 5th gen trucks

Deckplate mod 4th gen 4Runner?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2008, 06:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Deckplate mod 4th gen 4Runner?

I know this question has been asked quite often, but after much searching, I haven't been able to find a definitive answer. Has anyone successfully done the deckplate mod on a 4th gen 4runner V8? On my 2003, there is a small (3in or so?) concave section on the front of the intake that looks like it might be a good place. I'm not sure though... I'm kind of new to all of this stuff. I have over 120k on my truck now and just want to cheaply (as possible) increase performance and mpg. I do mostly highway driving and towing a boat on occasion (less often than I would like . I was thinking about the deckplate mod and a high-flow air filter. If it's not worth it... just let me know. And if there's any other mods I should look at, I'd appreciate the insight!

Thanks!
Old 03-28-2008, 02:03 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't have any specific details about the deckplate mod, but there are misconceptions about airflow mods.

First off, if airflow is increased, the fuel injection system has to compensate by adding more fuel to maintain the same fuel mixture. So what this means is with more air comes more fuel.

Being that this is true, how can you have both a power increase and fuel economy increase?

Second, if the deckplate isn't where the greatest restriction is, there will be no airflow increase. Why? Air flow is the same at all places in the air intake at a given time.

And by the way, the greatest restriction may not be in the intake. It could be the heads, it could be the exhaust.

You won't have 450 CFM of airflow at one place and simultaneously have 500 CFM at another place. If you increase one part so that the flow capability increases from 550 CFM to 600 CFM and the flow is restricted elsewhere at 450 CFM, the total flow will still be 450 CFM.