Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Won't steer right??? 1983

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2008, 06:40 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Won't steer right??? 1983

Hey there, i'm new to this 4x4 stuff. Truth be told I don't even own one...yet.

I have a few questions, and I’ve also done some searching, however I feel the need to ask and get some feedback

I'm in the midst of looking at an 83' 5spd. Short box. Its sitting on 33's and has be lifted via over axle leafs the on front, and some huge shackels on the back. (like 10in.) The rear leafs are flat hence the huge shackels. In my eyes the rear looks wrong, yes? No?

Anyways one of the problems he says it has is that it won’t steer right. Will a high steer kit fix this? Or should I be looking at the steering box? Or else where?

The truck is pretty rough but the frame looks pretty damn good. Is there any problem hidden areas the frame rusts out?

Also anything I should look out for with the 22r. Or is it like any other old Toyota engine, just keep the oil topped up and let it be?

the ad
83 short box reg cab 4x4. It’s got a 22R with a 5 spd trans. A bit of shackel lift. its on 33X13.5X15 worn Baja Claws. Also have roll bar with and a few other parts.. Doors ect. The body has some dents but decent. The box has rusted where they rust. Frame looks pretty good. It runs great but it needs a lil TLC up front. It wont turn right anymore. it can be sorted out quick

Thanks, and sorry if this should be in the noobie threads.
Old 01-30-2008, 06:57 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts