Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Check list for used 4-runner?

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2007, 05:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Check list for used 4-runner?

I just bought a 1990 4-Runner and i am new to 4wd's. I read in 4wd yota owner mag that before you take your truck off road you need to make sure everything is in good working order. any sugestions would be helpful. i cant wait to hit the trail. oh and any trails in houston area that are leagal?
Old 04-08-2007, 05:32 PM

Check all you fluid levels, do an oil change, check your tires, air filter, all the basic stuff...you know
Old 04-08-2007, 08:44 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Dude you are gonna have to let me know where you plan on wheelin! I live about 4 hours away and I just bought my first 4runner as well(1990). There is the beach around here (Corpus Christi) But I really dont have a place to go ATM.
Old 04-08-2007, 09:00 PM

Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts
Spare tire condition, properly inflated? Jack? does it work? Get a strap or chain of some sort(man I don't get people who expect the next guy to come along to have one when they're the one stuck )A shovel is another basic. I always carry a gallon of water. Not for the truck necessarily, for drinkin', washing hands/parts/dirty windsheilds, etc.

TOOLS!

Your camera, in case somethin' cool happens.
Old 04-10-2007, 04:42 AM
Contributing Member

Please do not use a chain as recovery gear!!!

Have a proper tow strap WITHOUT the hooks. Get one with the loops on the end and at least one shackle. (only trying to make this clear b/c I went out and got all of the wrong stuff) If you get the tow strap with hooks you could ingure yourself or someone else as those things turn to bullets if they ever let go. If you need proof there are pictures on the net of guys with holes in their tailgates.