Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Tire Valve Replacment

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 08:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tire Valve Replacment

Ok, I'm new to this so please bear with me while I try and navigate around here for the first time. I'm asking this question for a friend of mine who does not have a computer, so here goes.........
2004 Four Runner, had a leak in lft. rear tire. Was told by TOYOTA that it is the stem, also that they are like $108. ea.. He would like to replace them ALL with the "old style" rubber ones. Question, can this be done by swapping them out; how would you shut down the light on the dash??
Any help would really be appreciated. Thank you,
StuBkr
Southern, NH
Old 05-03-2007, 08:49 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
you could switch them out but your dash light would be on, did you have the tires worked on latley?
Old 05-03-2007, 09:08 AM

Yes, I know the dash light will stay on. Second part of the question was..."how would you shut down the light on the dash?"
I think he did have the truck serviced as you mentioned which also included checking tire pressure. I'll see him tomorrow and get more info out of him so I don't have to keep bouncing back and fourth.
Thnx.!
StuBkr
Southern, NH
(I just realized I am in the incorrect posting / I'll get it correct next time)
Old 05-03-2007, 11:41 AM

if its the metal type tire valve it can just be tightened(from the inside). The valve shouldn't go bad in only 3 years unless it got hit by something. Also try thighining or replacing the valve stem first.
Old 05-04-2007, 03:25 AM