Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

suspension, body lift and other mod questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2006, 09:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wink suspension, body lift and other mod questions

Hello Members,

I'm just beginning to do some OR mods to my '99 4R 5spd SR5 3.4 (no locker).... Any help or guidance or advice would be very much appreciated. I've been lurking on many forums for some time and done lots o' searches, and YotaTech is by far the most knowledgable and intelligently moderated (kiss, kiss ).

I've purchased a pair of Stubbs Sliders (Richard Stubbs- what a great guy!) and a Tcase skid and some shackle hangers, but have yet to install them. And when I do will be based upon your recommendations.

What I'd like to do:

Very mild lift. 1"? The rear of my truck sags slighlty. I've read this is normal. Also, what's the advantage of a body lift vs. a suspention lift? Should I do the lift BEFORE the sliders install, or does it matter? Or depend on the type of lift ...

And new, Front and Rear bumpers with a winch...

Any other suggestions??

I don't want to make my truck a rock crawler. I'd just like a more competent trail runner that can handle the rough stuff if necessary, and still be used as daily driver, though I have another vehicle.

Thanks for your help!
Old 04-06-2006, 09:13 AM

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
I suggest suspension lift instead of body lift. If you do decide on a body lift though, do that before you install the sliders. For a suspension lift, it shouldn't matter... you can do it before or after the slider installation.
Old 04-06-2006, 09:16 AM

For a 1" lift I would look at the performance products coils. They should level you out.

But... If you want a front bumper with a winch that 1" will disappear very quickly. Do a search for the TJM bumper and see what other people are doing.

As for the sliders, good choice.
Old 04-06-2006, 09:16 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post