Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Not Starting! distributor or module??

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2008, 11:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not Starting! distributor or module??

Helllo all, lovin this site, lots of good info and knowledgeable people.

I'm new to the Toyota world with my 1987 mini-motorhome with a 22RE engine. It ran great then all the sudden stalled as if I turned the key off. checked fuses etc. and replaced plugs and wires the next day, it started once and I let it run for a bit, later that day it wouldnt start. tried starting fliud, nothing.

Today I replaced the cap and rotor, nothin. Coil, nothin. So that leaves me with.... distributor and ignition module?? I am new to ignition systems as well, so any help will be appreciated. Which of these things usually go? how can I test for which one it is? I have DMM, I just dont know where to use it, THANKS A TON!

Eric
Old 12-30-2008, 11:06 AM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts
Search online for a Factory Service Manual. They are available as a download for free. It details how to test all that stuff. Beyond just checking for spark, you need to make sure you're getting fuel. After that make sure you have compression. You didn't overheat or anything, did you? If it's not a larger problem like a head gasket or something, then it's either fuel or spark. A distributer is cheaper if you plan to just keep replacing things without testing. Ignitor is pricey...ask me how I know..
I guess check to make sure your air filter isn't completely plugged up, too.
Old 12-30-2008, 11:11 AM

using the starting fluid pretty well limits to a spark problem, although I havent actually looked for a spark. the air filter is fine, it didnt overheat or anything, I only moved it 50 feet. I will definitely search for the manual, so youve replaced the ignitor I take it? I have a feeling thats the problem...
Old 12-30-2008, 11:50 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts