Browse all: Interior Guides
Print Wikipost

coolant smell and heater core repair

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2005, 09:18 PM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
coolant smell and heater core repair

Hi all,
I have an '86 4runner and it has had a coolant odor in the cab for some time. Mostly when the heat is on. I have already done some research and have determined it to be the heater core. Of course, not being an expert I could be wrong. What else would I look for? And if it is the heater core, is their a temporary yet effective way to deal with the leak without pulling it and repairing or replacing it. I simply have no time to deal with it right now unless I simply have to. Thank you!
Old 11-18-2005, 09:26 PM
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
do you still have heat coming in with the heater on? if not, then it is almost guaranteed to be the the heater core. what you can do as a temporary fix is bypass the heater core. it will fix the leak, but you will not have any heat. on the front side of the heater core, there are two hoses - an inlet and and outlet. the coolant goes from the radiator, into and out of the heater core, and then into the engine block before it returns to the radiator to be cooled. by connecting the heater core inlet and outlet hoses together, you are eliminating it from the cycle.

Last edited by Brendan; 11-18-2005 at 09:28 PM.
Old 11-18-2005, 09:32 PM

I still have really good heat, and getting better since I put a deposit cleaner through it. Being that it is winter, I would rather not have no heater if I don't have to. Any other options. BTW, thank you for your input. I did read about the bypassing in another thread. Like I said, I'd rather not. BURRRRRRRRR!
Old 11-19-2005, 06:52 AM
tc
Contributing Member

Well, if it's the heater core you're pretty much in a bypass, replace, learn to love the smell of coolant situation the way I understand it.