Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Wheel Spacers and Bearings

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2013, 10:57 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wheel Spacers and Bearings

Greetings,

- New guy here

- I recently got a 1982 22r, Webber 4x4. Looks like it was lifted in the back with blocks and shackles, fronts seems stock so it has the slight dragster look. Going to redo the springs and get rid of the blocks. Just got a rough country lift kit and dropped drag link (at least until i do a cross link someday). It has lift shackles in the back, and going to run a little longer shackle in the front, as I hear it smoothes out the ride by providing the springs extra leverage to flex via the shackle. So, i am a bit new to the whole 4x4 philosophy, but not new to mechanics. My other car being a home build turbo-integra, hacked ecu etc. etc, did all my own work, I also have two Harleys anda 5150 Kikker for my wife (she’s super small so it fits her).

- Ok so, I recently came upon the concept of "go as wide as you go high", and that got me thinking of how to accomplish this in a simple and inexpensive manner. My first thought was some universal wheel spacer, but then it got me thinking about how that might put stress on the wheel bearings due to the added leverage. Does anyone run universal spacers? If so, how has it affected your bearings or over all wear and tear of your outer running gear? Does anyone advocate or advise against them, if so why? Pros and cons please. I also welcome other affordable simple solutions to balancing the trucks high and width.