Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1987 4Runner - Restoration and Preservation

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2017, 01:46 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1987 4Runner - Restoration and Preservation

The Truck
In October, I purchased a 1987 4Runner off of eBay. According to the records that I have, the truck has spent its entire life in Southern AZ. It's 99% stock and almost entirely rust free - score!

This 4Runner came equipped with a 22R-E and 5 speed manual transmission. The truck currently has over 245,000 miles on the body and in 2007, the 22R-E was completely rebuilt. The shop that performed the work was Dan's Toy Shop in Tuscon. I have no personal experience with this business, but I was incredibly impressed by the cleanliness of the rebuild (compared to other "professional" jobs I've seen). I also liked that they provided detailed notes about all of the work they did and the parts that were replaced. Anything can happen, but I feel confident that this 22R-E is going to last for a while.

The interior is immaculate. Other than a cracked dash pad and torn front seats, it's all original and in excellent shape. There is very little to do on the inside except to replace the aforementioned items and clean/paint some of the faded trim pieces. There are a few mods that I want to do, which I'll discuss later.

Old 12-04-2017, 02:22 PM

The Plan

This build thread will document my efforts to restore and preserve this truck.

I plan to change very little about my 4Runner. I'll be cleaning and painting old parts and whenever possible, replacing broken or worn pieces with OEM components. My goal is to maintain this vehicle as close as possible to original specs.

That being said, I do want to make a few changes - e.g. SR5 vs standard gauge cluster.

I'm looking forward to the process and hope to learn as much as I can about these trucks. I'm sure that the YotaTech forums will prove to be a valuable resource along the way.

Without further ado, lets begin!