Vehicle Audio & Home Entertainment Discussions here pertain to vehicle stereo systems and home entertainment systems

Pretending I'm Slacker

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2013, 12:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Pretending I'm Slacker

I thought I'd share my fiberglassing and electronics journey as it goes, and see just what everybody thinks.
Despite the name, I'm only learning how to glass as I go and really don't hold a candle to Slacker/Toyota Fiberglass' work, but he's the guy that got me thinking about it all in the first place.

Why fiberglass?
Well, it's inexpensive and relatively forgiving. It lends well to the casual tinkerer, like myself, and it's something I can do a little bit at a time, without much trouble.

Here are some of the things I've read on how to glass at home:
https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f123...repair-230891/
Corax's dashboard repair was really what got me thinking about not simply repairing the dash, but modding it, too.

And this guy:
http://microship.com/resources/cardb...omposites.html
Really opened my eyes to how simple and affordable some of the elements can be.

I've basically spent the last two months studying the process in any way I can, and now it's time I put it all together.
Old 01-08-2013, 12:52 AM

Design, redesign, discard and redisgn (again).

I've spent a good deal of time in Sketchup playing with designs and testing out the mockups, and here are some of my finals:

This is the overall dashboard design. The angles aren't perfect, but for a concept, it seems to pass off decently. From L to R, the first bay is the OEM cluster bay, the second bay is where my oil pressure, voltmeter, vacuum gauge, clock and indoor/outdoor thermo will end up. All of them are 2 1/16" form factor pods, so they'll be perched in a frame in the opening with a Plexi-glass window over them.