General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Fiberglass dash repair

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2011, 04:40 PM

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Fiberglass dash repair

I've been tired of of looking at the cracked dash for awhile now. So a few days ago I pulled the dash out and started searching for a way to fix my cracked dash pad. In the process of doing that I read this thread, which opened up my eyes to the possibility of fiberglassing the thing over. Then I did a bit more searching and found several threads like this one which is only slightly more involved and includes modifying the original dash with gauge pods.

I've never worked with fiberglass before, but for my little project it doesn't look terribly difficult - worst case scenario, I bugger it up and have to spend a lot of time sanding to get it presentable. You'll note in the second link they started by peeling the old cover off and leaving the foam backing attached. I didn't do either, but I did re-glue the pad to the metal part of the dash where it had lifted and sanded down any high spots near the cracks.

Picked up some resin and fiberglass cloth for ~$20

Took the dremel to an a-pillar pod and then heat molded to it to fit the dash. Here it is glued in place with some precision bent "all thread" to build up the dash pocket a bit

dash all wrapped up like a mummy. This was a bit of a pain as the cloth kept coming apart and I'd get long threads stuck to my hands. I used a few dabs of glue in key spots to hold it in place on the dash - don't go nuts with the glue though because it'll prevent the resin from soaking through later.