Notices
Site Feedback Please use this forum to provide feedback, suggestions on the site

Reported attack page? Attn: TECH GUYS WORKING TO FIX ASAP

Old 03-19-2013, 10:43 AM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Yamiryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Punxsy, PA
Posts: 319
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Reported attack page? Attn: TECH GUYS WORKING TO FIX ASAP

I'm on my Mac using Firefox, and when viewing a build thread, when i clicked the next page of the thread a warning popped up that said yotatech was a reported attack page, stating that it may try to take personal information. I had to override it to get back on the site. What's the issue? Security issue or what? Just thought i would bring it up that this happened to me.
Yamiryder is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:03 AM
  #2  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Black_1985_SR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fed-La, Washington
Posts: 866
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
just happened to me also wtf?
Black_1985_SR5 is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:12 AM
  #3  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,206
Received 56 Likes on 50 Posts
tech guys are working on it.

if you can post a link to the thread you were looking at.
It will help them to get it narrowed down.
it usually is a result of stuff embedded in a photo.
dropzone is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:25 AM
  #4  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Black_1985_SR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fed-La, Washington
Posts: 866
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I just hit the new posts link and it happened to me
Black_1985_SR5 is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 11:25 AM
  #5  
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert m's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 1,688
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
it wasn't a thread, it was the main forum page for me.
Robert m is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:15 PM
  #6  
Contributing Member
iTrader: (1)
 
98SR54RUNNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 411
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Same thing happening to me.

It's coming up when I go to any YT forum or a specific post. Seems like it's a general thing and not specific to posting images.

Found this thread and it looks like this isn't the first time:

https://www.yotatech.com/forums/f92/...82/index4.html

Glad to hear the techs are on it, you guys are speedy!

Last edited by 98SR54RUNNER; 03-19-2013 at 12:17 PM.
98SR54RUNNER is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:21 PM
  #7  
Registered User
 
EFI85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bay Area/ Co Co County
Posts: 270
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MODS Yota tech virus Trojan

My pc keeps warning me of a virus on the site . I'm on my iPad but I'm afraid to use my PC .. Just an FYI
EFI85 is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:24 PM
  #8  
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff
iTrader: (1)
 
Corey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 32,230
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
I got it this morning at home with XP Pro and Firefox.
More than likely it is an external Google Sense ad that is corrupted.
Tech will diagnose it and kill it.

I can not do it at work here, but tech sent this earlier if someone from here wants to try this and post the info back to this thread.
When you get the warning, can you please click on the 'view google diagnostics' of this page, and once there, Google will identify the URL the malware is hosted on. Then we can search for that URL in the thread in question. Once we've got that, we can get rid of it very quickly
Corey is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 12:37 PM
  #9  
Registered User
 
redbayredneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Red Bay, NW Forida
Posts: 474
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If you click on any yotatech link on google, this comes up:

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...HolLSYhnPkMRbw
redbayredneck is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 01:04 PM
  #10  
Registered User
 
KBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Gulfport, MS
Posts: 189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation

Originally Posted by Corey View Post
I got it this morning at home with XP Pro and Firefox.
More than likely it is an external Google Sense ad that is corrupted.
Tech will diagnose it and kill it.

I can not do it at work here, but tech sent this earlier if someone from here wants to try this and post the info back to this thread.
heres the urls
http://safebrowsing.clients.google.c...omium&hl=en-US
KBar is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 02:39 PM
  #11  
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
 
Black_1985_SR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fed-La, Washington
Posts: 866
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I am the virus muhahaha jk there is another thread about this
Black_1985_SR5 is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 02:40 PM
  #12  
Registered User
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,051
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I've gotten the same Trojan warning the last few days on my PC. And for what it's worth, my iphone Yotatech app has been crashing consistently lately, as well.
Roark is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 02:47 PM
  #13  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 565
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Every page on yotatech shows this for me... Google Chrome on Win7x64

Name:  fds2_zps52f91327.png
Views: 51
Size:  110.2 KB
NickMiller is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 03:46 PM
  #14  
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Philbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pleasanton, CA - SF Bay Area
Posts: 2,159
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by NickMiller View Post
Every page on yotatech shows this for me... Google Chrome on Win7x64

Same for me the past couple days, and I have the same software/browser as you.

mybooboolapa.org is the website it told me was in question.

So, sounds like we're fine but that some folks posted links from malicious sites that were hosted on YT.com and as long as we don't click on bad stuff at YT.com we're OK?
Philbert is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 03:56 PM
  #15  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 565
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Philbert View Post
Same for me the past couple days, and I have the same software/browser as you.

mybooboolapa.org is the website it told me was in question.

So, sounds like we're fine but that some folks posted links from malicious sites that were hosted on YT.com and as long as we don't click on bad stuff at YT.com we're OK?
You should be fine unless you click on a malicious link... It's just an annoyance when I go to the User CP and every time I open a new subscribed thread in a new tab I have to click "show advanced options>proceed at your own risk"
NickMiller is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 04:05 PM
  #16  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,206
Received 56 Likes on 50 Posts
Guys this is the sort of info we need to kick these hackers in the balls.
Specific thread names help the most.

We all appreciate everyone's patience while the tech guys go to war
dropzone is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 04:08 PM
  #17  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,206
Received 56 Likes on 50 Posts
We are aware, tech guys working on it.

Gonna merge this thread with the one in the site feedback section.
dropzone is offline  
Old 03-19-2013, 08:03 PM
  #18  
Registered User
 
JBurt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Imperial County CA
Posts: 923
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
in addition to mybooboolapa.org I'm also getting poboytech.net
JBurt is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 01:51 AM
  #19  
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff
iTrader: (1)
 
Corey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 32,230
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
At home this morning I got the message again for the main URL, so I did not enter.
Funny, I am at Boeing now and with Windows 7 and Firefox, no warnings.

This has happened before and it will be cleared up.
More than likely it is an ad.
Corey is offline  
Old 03-20-2013, 06:18 AM
  #20  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Yamiryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Punxsy, PA
Posts: 319
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
this link just did it to me this morning http://www.yotatech.com/f116/solid-b...ng-kit-114974/
edit: only happened when i clicked on the link from google...
Yamiryder is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Reported attack page? Attn: TECH GUYS WORKING TO FIX ASAP


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: