javascript links & dropdowns not working - YotaTech Forums

Notices
Site Feedback Please use this forum to provide feedback, suggestions on the site

javascript links & dropdowns not working

Old 02-07-2011, 10:14 AM
  #1  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xxxtreme22r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Posts: 13,578
Thanked 59 Times in 38 Posts
javascript links & dropdowns not working

I don't know if anyone has brought this to the attention of the admins or not, so I decided to make a thread.

While in threads the search, blogs, Helpful Links, member profile and all other links w/dropdowns do not work.

While in the Forum indexes all is well. This only happens when in the actual threads.

While logged in none work. While logged out the profile link works but not the dropdown with the "PM" etc etc options work, but not any other links/dropdowns.

Also noticed the "Remove Text Formatting" Button also doesn't work at all either. I has in the past.

FIREFOX 3.6.13 & IE8 on WIN7 confirmed. Have not tried Chrome or Opera. Not sure how long it's been like that though. I would say maybe a week.

Thanks.
xxxtreme22r is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 10:20 AM
  #2  
YotaTech Milestone-Two Millionth Post
 
92 TOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 12,009
Thanked 117 Times in 52 Posts
i thought it was me.....was waiting for someone to post "The search button doesn't work" which we know the ability to use said button just isn't there either.

but truthfully....sometimes it did, sometimes it didn't....same thing w/ PM-ing......I know Swimmerboy had an issue and LUMPY and I were PM-ing just fine, but I could not click on YOUR profile....so again, thought it was me.
92 TOY is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 10:27 AM
  #3  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,094
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
it is a known issue...it popped up about a week ago. Working on getting it fixed.

One work around we found (doesn't always work) it is to go to:
>user CP
on left side you will see 'settings and options'
select 'edit options'
down at the bottom of the page you will see
'Miscellaneous Options '
under 'Forum skin'
there is several options for appearance
if you try ----Yotatech Extreme w/mud

**Don't select a format with sizeable fonts**
it might bring your tool bar options back like search.

Corey found that work around and it worked for me

The Tech Guys are trying to figure out what happened. It knocked out a lot of the mods too...

Last edited by dropzone; 02-07-2011 at 10:44 AM.
dropzone is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 10:41 AM
  #4  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xxxtreme22r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Posts: 13,578
Thanked 59 Times in 38 Posts
I was using the same template just with the "sizable fonts" option. Have just changed to the one without the sizable fonts and all of the dropdowns including the profile pm drop down now work.
xxxtreme22r is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 10:44 AM
  #5  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,094
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
cool, appears the glitch is the sizeable fonts..added that tidbit to the work around post, forgot about it

Glad you are back in action
dropzone is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 11:06 AM
  #6  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xxxtreme22r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Posts: 13,578
Thanked 59 Times in 38 Posts
I guess this workaround post is only available to the mods? Glad I started this thread then lol.

BTW the "remove text formatting" button appears to work now too.
xxxtreme22r is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 12:21 PM
  #7  
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff
iTrader: (1)
 
Corey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 32,225
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
I got messing around the other day and discovered it was the sizable fonts one with the extreme background jpg.
Figures, as that is the only theme I use.

Text is to small for me with a non sizable fonts theme.
I upped the text via Firefox, but it does not loom as good.
If I remember the original theme with sizable fonts will work, but I like the darker extreme theme much better.
So much that my personal home page mimicks it.

I am sure tech will get it solved before to long.
Corey is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 12:39 PM
  #8  
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff
iTrader: (1)
 
Corey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 32,225
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
PS, I meant extreme sizable fonts/with mud too.
That is my fave.
Can not edit post with mobile plugin
Corey is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 12:44 PM
  #9  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xxxtreme22r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Posts: 13,578
Thanked 59 Times in 38 Posts
Extreme sizable fonts with no mud background works as well.

Originally Posted by ocdropzone View Post
One work around we found (doesn't always work) it is to go to:
>user CP
on left side you will see 'settings and options'
select 'edit options'
down at the bottom of the page you will see
'Miscellaneous Options '
under 'Forum skin'
there is several options for appearance
if you try ----Yotatech Extreme w/mud

**Don't select a format with sizeable fonts**
it might bring your tool bar options back like search.

Corey found that work around and it worked for me

The Tech Guys are trying to figure out what happened. It knocked out a lot of the mods too...
No need to go through the CP, just scroll to the bottom of the page and on the left side is the drop down box for the template chooser.

ocdropzone always making it harder than it really is. hahahahaha. J/K.
xxxtreme22r is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:03 PM
  #10  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,094
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
hey man give me a break...I am old and only know how to do somethings one way



anyway, the Tech Guys say the issue has been fixed so hopefully no one experiences any other issues...
dropzone is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:05 PM
  #11  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xxxtreme22r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Posts: 13,578
Thanked 59 Times in 38 Posts
yyyyyaaaaaaayyyy It works. Leave it to me to kick some butt and get stuff done around here. hahahaha.
xxxtreme22r is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:07 PM
  #12  
Fossilized
Staff
iTrader: (6)
 
dropzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PNW
Posts: 19,094
Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts
Originally Posted by xxxtreme22r View Post
yyyyyaaaaaaayyyy It works. Leave it to me to kick some butt and get stuff done around here. hahahaha.
they were working on it over the weekend Mr. Smarty Pants
dropzone is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:09 PM
  #13  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xxxtreme22r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Posts: 13,578
Thanked 59 Times in 38 Posts
Originally Posted by ocdropzone View Post
they were working on it over the weekend Mr. Smarty Pants
xxxtreme22r is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:11 PM
  #14  
YotaTech Milestone-Two Millionth Post
 
92 TOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 12,009
Thanked 117 Times in 52 Posts
hey the search button works.


can we make the search button like 1 inch tall so it gets used more often......as an old guy I even use it
92 TOY is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 01:21 PM
  #15  
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff
iTrader: (1)
 
Corey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 32,225
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Originally Posted by 92 TOY View Post
hey the search button works.


can we make the search button like 1 inch tall so it gets used more often......as an old guy I even use it
It will never work.
I have BIG BOLD RED TEXT on the signup page to not create a second account if the fist one does not take, yet they still do.
Corey is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 03:11 PM
  #16  
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
ChefYota4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palos Verdes, California
Posts: 19,281
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
XXX(AKA; OG-B, IN THE PLACE TO Be!) FTW! LOL.

YAY, it works, .....don't have to THINK, just point and press, YAY! hahaha.
ChefYota4x4 is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 05:17 PM
  #17  
Registered User
 
angrydogtattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: southeast Ohio
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I find that I can't use IE8 or Firefox to view the site when logged in, the page will load, but as soon as I login, I get a blank page in firefox, or an error page with IE, Chrome however works fine. Not sure whats up unless the recent java update killed everything.
angrydogtattoo is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 06:49 PM
  #18  
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
xxxtreme22r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Posts: 13,578
Thanked 59 Times in 38 Posts
working fine for me all night, firefox 3.6.13 on win 7.
xxxtreme22r is offline  
Old 02-17-2011, 08:44 PM
  #19  
Registered User
iTrader: (5)
 
ChefYota4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Palos Verdes, California
Posts: 19,281
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by xxxtreme22r View Post
working fine for me all night, firefox 3.6.13 on win 7.
X2^^^ ..... And, ....Also working with my Laptop using Vista Home Premium(I know, but t'was a gift, lads....take it easy on me! lol)
ChefYota4x4 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
MO transplant
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
8
05-11-2016 04:01 PM
jerusry
Axles - Suspensions - Tires - Wheels
1
10-19-2015 06:28 PM
ashersullivan88yota
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners
12
07-28-2015 07:22 PM
Huntingtruckcletus
Other Makes Cars/Trucks
0
07-08-2015 06:26 PM
ptb12
84-85 Trucks & 4Runners
1
07-05-2015 02:49 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: javascript links & dropdowns not working


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: