Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

4Runnin2000's Build Thread

Old 02-20-2012, 08:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile 4Runnin2000's Build Thread

Hey guys,

My name is Keith and ive been a member on this forum for about a year and a half. I havent posted much. I've just been reading and learning a lot about my 4runner. Im new to anything off road so i figured it would be best to sit and read. So here's the story of the runner. We traded our other car in for this one for the wife. She has been wanting a 4runner and so have I. It was supposed to be a daily driver for her but about 6 months later i starting a job that gave me a company car. So, of course she started driving mine (2006 Subaru Legacy) to work and back because the gas prices were getting up there. Now we only use the runner on weekends and to travel to lake and camping, etc. So i now want to turn in into a little bit of a project. I dont plan on going full blown off road. I just want it to be able to tackle obsticles if need be! So.. here is what ive got...

2000 4runner SR5 4WD boguht in july 2010 107,000 miles on it. it now has 124,000 on it. has the Electronic rear dif lock and really every extra you can get in this year!

I cant find a pic of when i first bought it. but it looked like this minus the tint

First thing i do on all my cars in az is tint the windows. Heres before:

After 15% all around which made the rear limo. and limo windshield strip.

And we needed some new tires. it was still a daily driver at the time so they are big "o" highway tires. 265/70/16

Then it was off with the running boards after constant harrassment from assyrianrocker.

Problem is the wife is all of 5 ft tall and needs something to help her in. so we replaced the running boards with these off an 01 limited

After a lot of reading, the deck plate mod was next along with a true flow filter

with the deck plate in. wow what a difference!