Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

TRD Supercharger question?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2006, 12:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TRD Supercharger question?

I've been thinking about purchasing a supercharger for my 00'runner "3.4".But i'm wondering what the possibility of a trans failure is with these?I've read a couple articles about this problem but I haven't seen it here.Is there a recomended upgrade from Toyota for the trans, or is the stock one capable of handling the torque created from the new supercharger?Is there a difference from a regular runner transmission to the TRD version? I currently have a K&N FIPK and Magnaflow exhaust and I think that a new SC would be the ticket"or get me one"!If anybody has some advice to prevent me from tearing up my runner please let me know.I'm kind of new to the 4runner game and I believe that all the experience from you,"actual owners" would be extremely helpfull.On that note ,If you have any advice or recomendations for me before I start this venture please feel free to let me know.Thanks!
Old 07-01-2006, 12:38 PM

i would send out your tranny valve body to IPT as soon as you slap the charger on there.
Old 07-01-2006, 01:09 PM
Contributing Member

Depends on whether or not you have auto or manual transmission. If you have an automatic you'll want to do the valve body upgrade. Don't forget that you'll need to do fuel upgrades as well.

I strongly suggest that you run a search with the specific topics you want. Supercharger by itself will yield a bajillion results. Supercharger and upgrade will yield much more helpful threads. There's a LOT of information archived away I'd suggest reading up and doing homework.
Old 07-01-2006, 01:12 PM

ticket

I think that a new SC would be the ticket"or get me one"!

pre-paid legal

no really i kinda wish i had it when i got my 97 in a 60 the other day from the troopers
Old 07-01-2006, 01:33 PM
Sponsoring Vendor