Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Some Suspension Questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2004, 05:15 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Some Suspension Questions

I am new to the Toyota offroading world having just bought my 94 4runner a month ago. I couldn't resist the price was right and it has a fresh crate motor that was installed by the dealer 5k miles ago. I need to tow a boat and a utilitytrailer so I am concerned about the sagging rear suspension. I have also been bitten by the offroading bug so some addition performance would be nice. After some research online (Mostly at Corey Tando's site) It seems that the Downey 1.5 inch heavy duty springs are the way to go. One thing that I am not sure about it the shocks. All 4 of my shocks are well worn with over a 170k miles on them. I have seen both good things about the new Edlebrock shocks and Bilstein units. The price is about the same so I am not to sure which one has the advantage. I don't need a lot of offroad performance but I do need load handling and onroad performance. So if anyone has some personal experiance or some tips to help I would really appreciate there wisdom

Thanks
Scott
Old 05-15-2004, 10:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have the same springs a Corey, the 1.5" Downey's. I love em, They make a world of difference in looks and performance for hualing/towing. As for shocks I don't know much about different kinds but stock length works fine with the springs but if you want more flex then longer ones are needed.
Old 05-15-2004, 11:26 PM

I think it's more cost effective to put air shocks in back to raise the sagging rear stock springs back up to normal height. Then that also gives you the ability to adjust the rear air shocks for towing. From my own experience you'll probably be more satisfied with the air shocks than the replacement rear springs.
Old 05-16-2004, 10:49 AM