Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

which shocks are the smoothest!! HELP

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2006, 10:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
which shocks are the smoothest!! HELP

Ok i am new to the world of suspension, i know quite a bit about motors but suspension is foreign to me.

I have a 97 tacoma xtracab 2wd w/ a 3" body lift. Rancho5000 on front, and stock shocks on back.

Now, This truck will mostly be a street truck unless im taking my dirtbike out where i might have to go on a dirt road, but probably no real offroading will be done in this truck.

SO, which shocks should i buy to achieve the smoothest possible ride n the road, smooth as in not feeling little bumps and minimizing the pot holes on the road. The ranchos are waaaayyyy to stiff for me and i dont like the ride, because its very rough on bumpy roads.

Ive heard OEM would be the softest riding but what is your opinions????????
Old 06-22-2006, 03:02 AM

I would like to know this as well.
Old 06-22-2006, 04:05 AM

There are so many opinions on shocks. Many here are running Billstien HD's, but I've heard they're quite harsh riding. Other options include KYB, OME, Rancho, Monroe, etc. If you're just after a smooth ride, Monroe SensaTracs are a pretty good bet...if you won't be offroading much. Do a search on shocks for more info.
Old 06-22-2006, 04:15 AM

Location: Far western Kentucky (transplanted from central PA)
If you want smoothness over good handling, then I would have to agree that the OEM shock is probably the way to go. They'll give you that original, "Soccer Mom" ride. But be aware that, IMO, 4Runners typically do NOT ride as smooth as other SUV's no matter what shocks you put on them. I have the Bilsteins and they are harsh, but I prefer a nimble, tight-in-the-corners ride.
Old 06-22-2006, 04:25 AM