Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Please help me with my 3.4. I'm loosing my mind

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2017, 06:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please help me with my 3.4. I'm loosing my mind

This site is an awesome resource but I haven't found a solution for my problem. I am a mechanic/fabricator by trade and I am baffled! Here is the whole story...
The motor was running great, then it developed a squeak that seemed to be from the bottom end. I changed the oil since it was due and the first time I started my truck after the oil change the squeak turned into a knock until it built oil pressure, and then turned back into a squeak. So at this point I'm bummed because I feel like I have a bad bearing in the bottom end but I continue driving it. Runs fine but seems a little low on power. I put 100 miles on it or so and then got some gas. 13 miles after getting gas the engine just dies on me while I'm driving. No bad noises, just dead and wouldn't refire. I get it home thinking timing best flew off but no, it's still there and the timing marks are all lined up still. Confirmed spark. Confirmed fuel. Checked compression. All were between 160-180 PSI but funny stuff happens on both rear cylinders while doing the compression test. I start cranking and the gauge with go up to around 20-40 PSI and not move for 3-4 more revolutions and then spike up to 185 on one and 200 on the other. It doesn't even try to start. Turns over fine but with a squeak. Plugged in scan tool and there are NO DTC. WTF!!! Nothing makes sense. I don't know why a squeak would prevent it from running? If it is bad gas how could I drive for 13 miles and not be able to start it with starting fluid? What is up with the compression on the 2 rear cylinders? I really don't want to tow it to a Toyota Stealership. Any input is appreciated.
Old 08-14-2017, 07:00 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post