Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

HELP —-> Which one would you choose!? <—-

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2018, 07:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question HELP —-> Which one would you choose!? <—-

Hey guys, Toyota newbie here. After 6 months of looking I am finally in a position to buy a 4Runner. I have a choice between two at the moment. One is a 2000 4Runner 295,xxx KILOMETRES 4x4 5speed manual. It has just recently had a new clutch, throw out bearing and pilot bearing done. He has a Aisin timing belt/water pump/ tensioner kit that he could install before sale(not sure how I feel about that) or just be included. The other option is a 1996 Toyota 4Runner 4x4 Automatic with 350,xxx KILOMETRES on it with a factory rear E-locker. Less then 5,000 Kilometres on a new timing belt, water pump and fuel pump. Both are rust free aside from a bit on the front and rear bumpers on the 1996.

PLEASE HELP...I am am in serious need of some advice on which to buy or what to look out for on either one!
Old 01-15-2018, 11:08 PM

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
I'd go for the stick shift with 30k less miles on it, unless the price tag is ridiculous low. Could be riddled with drive problems that may or may not be disclosed. Doesn't hurt to bargain if the price is higher than blue book value. If you have a code reader, ask if you can hook it up to see any pending or stored codes. Test drive both.

If you're a serious off-roader, the one with the e-locker might be the one for you.

Either one, excellent choice. The final decision is yours.

Last edited by 75w90mantraN; 01-15-2018 at 11:14 PM.
Old 01-16-2018, 05:16 AM

Received 121 Likes on 78 Posts
Personal preference, but I'd go for the stick shift. If you want to add a locker to it later on it's far easier than getting a stick shift swapped in.

I just like manual transmissions though.