Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

amp/sub install

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2003, 12:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
amp/sub install

Hello everyone. I'm new to the 4 Runner community, i just bought a black '94 3.0 automatic. I like it so far and i'm sure it will be a great truck, but anyway, onto the subject matter. I put in a new headunit already and i'm ready to put in an amp and sub. I've torn some of the dash apart already looking for an ideal spot to run the amp power wire. I believe it's awg 6 or 4 wire, i forget, but is there any good spot to run a big wire like that to the battery? I saw the grommets on either side of the engine bay but they look like a pain to get to from the inside of the truck. And also are there any good places for the amp ground too? Thanks any suggestions would be appreciated.

ian
Old 05-15-2003, 01:34 PM
Contributing Member

When I ran mine, rather than going from under the dash through the firewall, I ran it through the firewall and into the cab. It's easier to find the hole that way.

I found a hole with a plug in it that didn't have any wires going through it. It was on the driver's side, but close to the center of the vehicle.

I ran the power cable from the battery along to the hole in the firewall, which basically comes out behind the center console inside the rig. I then loosened the center console and ran the wire under the console between the seats. I cut a small hole in the carpet and ran the power under the carpet to the spot where I mounted the amp under the seat.

There are two decent places to ground your amp. Since I installed mine under the passenger seat, I just ran the ground to one of the bolts holding the seat in. The other would be one of the seat bolts (or seat belt bolts) on the back seat, if you plan to mount your amp in the cargo area.
Old 05-15-2003, 01:46 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to the forum!! What part of PA you from?