Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

2000 4runner 3.4L overheating...

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2018, 12:26 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2000 4runner 3.4L overheating...

Newbie here with an overheating problem.

I have search, and found, prior post relating to my issue, but have not found any that exactly matches my specific issue, so I am kindly asking for help diagnose my baby's problem.

I have owned my 4runner (SR5 with about 280K miles) for about a year now, and it was purchased in order to cope with our move from sunny Florida to the hills of West Virginia with the changing seasons. In the beginning almost everything was well driving in Florida. Temp gauge doesn't work so I added a ScanGauge2 to the diagnostic port, and in FL temp stayed around 186-188, occasionally jumping to 190. Pretty standard stuff and in line with what it was supposed to be. I had a couple of trips from FL to WV with no temp issues at all.
The problem started after I pulled an enclosed trailer and the truck filled inside the 850 miles, all with OD off. I could do about 60 mph and keep the temp around 180-190, again pretty much on par with what I expected, but on the return trip with an empty trailer it was the same issue. At no time could I sneak above 60 mph without the temp climbing.

Before my 2nd trip north with the trailer I replaced the radiator and added an oil cooler in series with the one in the radiator (over a period of 2 weeks I kept an eye on the temp and added fluid as the system burped out the air), but the problem persisted on my 2nd trip, or maybe a bit worse than on the first trip.